Where Is the Tomb Raiding in ‘Tomb Raider’?

Last spring the Tomb Raider franchise got a reboot with Oscar-winning actress Alicia Vikander as the new film version of the iconic character Lara Croft. People were excited to see the new Tomb Raider but unfortunately, it was an underwhelming comeback and I decided not to watch it…until last night.

I was bored, I figured it would probably have some decent action in it, and so I watched Tomb Raider. Now, mind you, I’m very familiar with this character and her story. I recently played the Rise of the Tomb Raider game–which was very fun by the way–so it was exciting to watch the movie and know what’s going on.

tombraiderinthewoods.jpg

Alicia Vikander does a great job portraying the character. She looks fierce when she needs to be fierce and she actually looks like how you would imagine Lara Croft looking if it the character was in a movie. She’s basically the only thing good about the movie though.

Continue reading Where Is the Tomb Raiding in ‘Tomb Raider’?

Throwback Friday: My ‘Black Panther’ Experience

This past Tuesday Black Panther became the first superhero movie to get Oscar-nominated for Best Picture and so, to celebrate that incredible historic moment, I’m looking back to the day I watched Black Panther for the first time. Enjoy! 🙂

Guess what?! I’ve seen Black Panther and spoiler alert, it’s magnificently, wonderfully, incredibly, awesome! I knew this movie was going to be good but boy, I wasn’t expecting it to be this amazing. From the first scene all the way to the last this movie had me beaming with pure joy and pride as I watched this film. I’m telling you, I’ve never been more proud to be a woman of color. This movie is literally a dream come true. To see so many powerful, smart black women and men was just…in a word, glorious. And that’s not the only reason why this movie was so enjoyable. The story was impeccably told, the visuals were jaw-dropping and captivating, the action, oh my goodness, the action was mindbogglingly epic, the outfits were gorgeously designed, and the characters were magnificent.

Marvel has clearly sent a message to the world with this movie and, I hate to say it, but it made Wonder Woman (another historic superhero movie) look like a joke in comparison. Black Panther was everything I wanted it to be…and more.

I also enjoyed the trailers before the film immensely as well. There was Tomb Raider which I have to admit, it looked kind of good, Ant-Man and the Wasp was a fun trailer in IMAX, Solo: A Star Wars Story was, of course, wonderful to see, but the surprise of the day was the Venom teaser.

I have no knowledge of Venom other than he’s the scary version of Spider-Man but I do have knowledge of movie trailers and this teaser practically screamed interestingly awesome. Another thing that excited me is seeing Tom Hardy. He’s one of my favorite actors and so seeing him in a movie kind of solidifies a movie’s chances of being good. It was also a really good teaser because it didn’t share anything and that’s always exciting.

(Present day: It’s a shame because Venom didn’t turn out to be as amazing as it seemed.)

All in all, this has been a Marvel-ous Friday and I couldn’t be happier.

I thank you for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day. Wakanda Forever! (That’s something that’s said in the movie and it is totally awesome!) 🙂

My Version of The Last Jedi: Chapter One

The First Order Prepares

A small freighter lingers in the vast emptiness of space. Aboard that freighter rests a simple smuggler in the cockpit of his beloved vessel. His feet are propped on the dashboard and his drowsy eyes scan the millions of twinkling stars laid out before him in the dark.

He is not waiting for anyone nor expecting anything. So imagine his surprise as ten massive Star Destroyers appear in the very space before him out of hyperspace. His jaw drops. His eyes widen. 

When one final Star Destroyer arrives out of hyperspace–this one of a slightly larger size and adorned with glowing red lines that covered its deep black outer surface–the smuggler could only say, “Oh, sh…”

Continue reading My Version of The Last Jedi: Chapter One