Counting Down my 20 Favorite Trailers: #1: ‘The Force Awakens’

Yes, my favorite trailer of all time is The Force Awakens official trailer. Why, you may ask. Simple; it makes me cry. Why does it make me cry? Well, let me share with you the trailer and then I’ll get to the tear-inducing details.

Okay, first of all, I’m a Star Wars fan, as you already know, and this trailer reminds me of a time when I was the happiest I had ever been with this franchise that I cherish so deeply. So that sense of nostalgia (and slight sense of sadness considering how I feel about the franchise now) helps pull the tears from my eyes.

Secondly, the trailer alone is a story. We first meet Rey and in a few words we learn that she is a lonely scavenger who considers herself to be “no one.” Finn is a stormtrooper who has “nothing to fight for” and has defected from the First Order. And Kylo Ren is essentially a puppet who wants to live up to Darth Vader’s greatness. “I will finish what you started,” he says as a streak of red death races across the vastness of space.

Immediately we are introduced to the films’ three primary characters and after that, the rest is history. The plot of the movie is laid out, action scenes are shown, Han Solo gets some words, the Millennium Falcon flies again, Leia is seen hugging Han Solo, and by the trailer’s conclusion, as Finn prepares himself for Kylo Ren’s onslaught and the music crescendos we can hear Maz Kanata saying, “The Force. It’s calling to you. Just let in.”

Cue the tears.

I know that Avengers: Infinity War is perfection incarnate, that Logan gives us one of the best uses of a song for a trailer maybe of all time, that The Lord of the Rings teaser is magic through and through, and that the trailer for Instellar is an utter masterpiece, but when I watch this trailer it hits my emotions in ways the other trailers can’t and that is why it is my favorite trailer.

I thank you so much for following this series. I’ll be seeing the teaser for Dune ahead of TENET tomorrow (hopefully) and if it’s good as people are saying it is that’ll be another trailer to talk about for years to come.

Have a great day.

‘The Wolverine’ Is Just Plain Fun

I’ve watched basically all of the X-Men movies but there are some that I still haven’t seen yet, one of them being The Wolverine. Since it just dropped on Disney+ I decided to watch it and yeah, its conclusion was predictable, its one-liners were a bit cliche, but overall, I kind of had a blast.

I’m a fan of action films featuring martial arts heavy action scenes so with that aspect paired with Wolverine’s ultimate butt-kicking I found myself grinning on several occasions.

Just like all X-Men films, there’s a real sense of peril. For a while, I didn’t know who was going to live and who was going to die…well, I knew that Logan would make it but it still didn’t make watching him stave off death over and over again any less intense.

Continue reading ‘The Wolverine’ Is Just Plain Fun

I’m Watching ‘TENET’ Tomorrow!

Oh my goodness, you have no idea the excitement that fills my spirit as I write this. For months, I have been eagerly but patiently awaiting the moment when movie theaters would open and TENET would be available to see in theaters. Well, the time has come, and my family and I are going to see Christopher Nolan’s epic in IMAX tomorrow.

I’ve never taken a trip to the movie theater for granted but now…this really feels like a dream come true. And of all movies to see for the first time since the lockdown it’s going to be a film from one of, if not my favorite, directors of all time; Christopher Nolan, a pure genius in his own right and a heck of a movie maker.

All I know heading into the film is that it’s an espionage flick dealing with good guys fighting bad guys through time. What that will entail, I’m not quite sure, but I do know this…it’s going to be another exhilarating experience in the theater.

I’m so excited you all and I can’t wait to share my reaction tomorrow. I thank you for reading and yes, it’s time to go back to the movies!