‘Furiosa’ After a Second Viewing

Last Friday I went to my local theater and watched one of my most anticipated movies of the year: Furiosa. Ever since I saw the first trailer, I was certain that George Miller had crafted another epic film, and sure enough, the movie delivers on all cylinders.

This is a quintessential summer blockbuster with astounding action set pieces that grip you and never let go. And these action sequences on an IMAX screen are some of the most visceral and immersive action scenes I’ve seen for a long time. But most importantly, it is the characters and the actors that portray them that stand out.

Charlize Theron’s Furiosa is, in my opinion, one of the greatest fictional characters to ever grace cinema, and Anya Taylor-Joy does a phenomenal job of living up to that remarkable performance. She brings an intensity to the movie that’s needed for this iteration of Furiosa to feel the same, and wow, her features are so striking on the big screen. She’s always been a great actress but getting to see her in an action movie of this scale was fantastic.

Chris Hemsworth has always been a good actor (that’s been apparent since his portrayal of Thor, specifically in Infinity War and Endgame,) but George Miller really lets him dig deep into this psychopathic, demented (pun intended) antagonist, bringing him to life in a fashion that instantly places him on the pantheon of great Mad Max villains.

Charlee Fraser, who plays Furiosa’s mother in the film, is another scene stealer. Her presence is felt instantly. Whenever she appears onscreen, I was absolutely locked in. Considering that this is only her second acting role (she was previously in the romcom Anyone But You) I hope to see her in a lot more stuff because she’s phenomenal.

And last but definitely not least, there’s my favorite character in the movie, Praetorian Jack played by Tom Burke. In the same fashion that Charlize Theron’s Furiosa outshone Tom Hardy’s Max in Fury Road, Praetorian Jack is just so freaking cool that I can’t stop thinking about him. His presence, from the first scene to the last, has left an impression on me, and I honestly hope to see this actor in more stuff because he did a remarkable job.

He was so good in this movie, in fact, that I’m hoping he’ll get cast in the new Lord of the Rings film: The Hunt for Gollum, which is supposed to come out in 2026. He has the distinct appearance and presence that I feel would fit perfectly in Middle-Earth.

All in all, Furiosa is undoubtedly one of the best movies of the year, and I hope more people get to see it in theaters because it is outstanding. It’s also a reminder of why I love cinema so much. There’s nothing like watching a great movie on the big screen, and George Miller takes every advantage of that remarkable experience.

I thank you for reading, and I hope you have a spectacular day.

2 thoughts on “‘Furiosa’ After a Second Viewing”

Leave a comment