‘Inside Out 2’ Is the Best Pixar Movie in Years

When Bob Chapek took over Disney in Bob Iger’s stead, I never imagined that the Disney brand would take such a plummet. Their movies started to make less money, I started to hear less than favorable things about the parks, and it just felt like Disney had lost that special spark that makes it so special. With Iger back in the driver’s seat, that spark has returned, and I felt it while watching Inside Out 2.

Before I begin sharing my feelings about this movie, I want to put out there that I have still enjoyed the past few Disney/Pixar movies in recent years…well, at least some of them. I liked Soul (I’ve seen it twice), Raya and the Last Dragon (I’ve watched it five times), Turning Red was cute and I thought Lightyear was pretty good. That being said, it seemed like Disney/Pixar as a cinematic goliath was something we’d never see again. And then Inside Out 2 came out this weekend.

I went to watch it at my local theater on Thursday night and I was thrilled to see the theater packed with families, teenagers, and adults. There was laughter, and intense silence when the story began to darken, and crying, oh there was so much crying. I haven’t heard that many people crying in a theater since watching Wakanda Forever. And for good reason.

Inside Out 2 is a brilliant movie. As someone who wasn’t very fond of the first one, I’m pleased to say that this sequel was far more engaging and relatable. The new emotions, Anxiety, Envy, Embarrassment, and Ennui were perfect additions to highlight Riley’s emotional growth as a teenager. The story was perfectly conceptualized and there were genuinely funny moments that had me crying with laughter. But it was the profoundly moving ending that made me realize that this truly was one of the best Pixar movies in years.

For anyone trying to improve their mental health, or who has been struggling with it, this movie was perfect. I don’t want to go into too much detail, but it depicts anxiety in a way that I’ve never seen before, and it was impactful. Children will like this story because of the cute characters, but this film feels far more geared toward teenagers and adults who know these emotions firsthand and are plagued with emotional turmoil like anxiety on a daily basis.

Inside Out 2 is booming at the box office this weekend, and it’s wonderful to see. When the summer box office appeared bleak, Bad Boys: Ride or Die and Inside Out 2 have ridden in to save the day and I couldn’t be happier that these movies are doing well at the box office.

If you haven’t seen it yet, Inside Out 2 is a perfect film for the family, and I highly recommend it.

I thank you for reading and I hope you have a lovely day.

Leave a comment