The Underrated Girl Power of the ‘Avatar: The Last Airbender’ Franchise

Growing up, Avatar: The Last Airbender was my favorite thing to watch. Even now, it’s one of the greatest shows I have ever laid eyes on. But it was only recently that I realized how many awesome female characters are in this story and how much we’ve taken it for granted.

I’m talking Katara and Toph, Azula, Mai, and Ty Lee. Or if we’re thinking about The Legend of Korra; Korra, Asami, Lin Beifong, Opal, Kuvira, Suyin, and the list for both shows only goes on and on.

Often times, it’s such a big deal when female characters get to shine or have their own stories told but these two shows never shrug from the responsibility of giving girls plenty of empowering ladies, good or bad, to cheer for.

I just wanted to point that out.

I thank you for reading and I hope you have a lovely day.

My Three Favorite Foreign Films

I don’t often think of watching foreign films but every now and then I come across a foreign film that strikes me right in the core with its brilliance. I don’t know why, but I woke up this morning thinking about the foreign films I’ve seen and so I decided to share my three favorite films.

3. Parasite

Parasite is full of deeper meanings but it’s bluntest statement is its striking storytelling. Parasite deserved to win Best Picture last year because it was different, it was unique, and it was memorable.

I’ve seen this movie twice now and my second viewing was better than my first, substantially. Suddenly, I was able to absorb the story as it unfolded and by the end, I felt like I had watched something truly worth seeing.

I will definitely watch it again in the future but if you haven’t seen it yet it’s totally worth a viewing.

Continue reading My Three Favorite Foreign Films