I Finished ‘Squid Game’: Here Are My Thoughts

I’m writing this post now but I actually finished the show two days ago after bingewatching the series over the course of four days. When it concluded I was left so flabbergasted by the wild and rather twisted story I had just consumed that I honestly needed to take some time to digest what I had just seen.

Now I’m ready to talk about this show, albeit in a spoiler-free way, and even though I’ve got a lot of thoughts I’ll save that particular post for another time. So here’s my review for the series as a whole.

If you’ve seen Hunger Games then you may have an idea of what you’re about to get yourself into. And even so, nothing can quite prepare you for this very violent demented story that will have you looking at simple children’s games differently for quite a while. Yeah, I’m traumatized.

Beyond the wince-worthy violence however is a surprisingly well-written story that leaves you on your toes from Episodes 3-9. Every character is memorable. You’ll begin to like some characters and will begin to despise others. After a while, you will get entirely invested in these characters, making Episode 6 one of the saddest things I have ever watched. If you’ve seen this show, you know what I’m talking about.

When I reached the finale my brain was numb from the emotional annihilation I had just endured. And the finale didn’t disappoint. It’s ending, which seems to be hinting toward a potential Season 2, will undoubtedly be controversial but I found it to be a powerful ending to a show that continuously found ways to subvert expectations.

Is Squid Game one of the best shows I’ve ever seen? I can actually say it is. My favorite shows of all time still belong to Sherlock and Avatar: The Last Airbender, but Squid Game did manage to win me over with a profoundly surprising story that shocked me at every turn. And yes, I’d recommend it, but if you don’t like excessive violence this show will not be your cup of tea.

I’m giving it 4.5 out of 5 stars and a solid 95 out of 100.

I thank you for reading and I hope you have a fantastic day.

Leave a comment