I Watched Two More Movie Classics: ‘Cool Hand Luke’ and ‘In the Mood For Love’

I love watching classic movies. There’s something fascinating about looking back through time and discovering a surprise gem with a profoundly compelling story unlike anything that’s made these days.

Movies these days have become so generic. Everything’s a sequel or a reboot and if it is something new it’s an unoriginal mashup of past great movies. Hence the reason why Parasite’s arrival a couple of years ago was such a breath of fresh air. Parasite was as original as they come and guess what? It was really good too. Even this year’s Best Picture, Nomadland, was surprisingly original.

So, last night, I watched two classics: Cool Hand Luke and In the Mood for Love. So, with no further delay, here are my thoughts about these two movies.

Cool Hand Luke

Paul Newman is one of the most famous actors of all time and his most influential film just might be Cool Hand Luke. I honestly didn’t know what to expect but as I watched the film it became more and more clear that this movie was going to subvert every one of my expectations.

Was the movie great? I personally didn’t think so. At times it was hilarious and riveting…and then there were other times when the movie was as exacerbating as they come. When the movie concluded I was left staring straight ahead like, “What just happened?”

Yes, I know the movie is famous and I understand why but this wasn’t exactly my cup of tea.

4/5 stars

Continue reading I Watched Two More Movie Classics: ‘Cool Hand Luke’ and ‘In the Mood For Love’