‘Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings’ After a Second Viewing

Well, I watched Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings again today and honestly, I can definitively say this is the best MCU origin story by a mile and one of the top ten MCU films.

Like I said in my last post, Shang-Chi isn’t a perfect movie. In the humor department some of the jokes feel a bit cheesy or poorly placed in between the awesome action scenes but that’s the only element of the film that takes some points away from the film. The rest of the movie is absolutely fantastic!

Considering that the movie has been out for a week I’m going to head into spoiler territory so I implore you to STOP READING NOW if you haven’t seen it already. Okay, here goes my review.

SPOILERS AHEAD!

Continue reading ‘Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings’ After a Second Viewing

Is Marvel Better than ‘Star Wars’?: Part 1

This is a question that has been plaguing me since Infinity War. It’s a question that I thought I would never ask myself but after years and years and years of consistently good-to-great content from the MCU it was a question I had to start honestly asking myself. But it’s a question I never answered…until now.

(This is a longread.)

Think about it. Star Wars has been wholly consistent over the past four decades. In 1977, George Lucas created an instant global phenomenon out of a film that mashed the qualities of a great fairy tale (a young boy goes on a life-changing adventure with a wizard, saves a princess, and becomes a hero) with the imagination of a sci-fi fantasy epic unlike anything else that had been created before.

Like Tolkien, he created a world with languages and creatures and characters that were as defined as historical figures, worlds, and animals in the real world. It was incredible, it was hypnotizing, game-changing, and it spawned a franchise that literally has millions of fans across the globe, me included.

Continue reading Is Marvel Better than ‘Star Wars’?: Part 1