Movie Review Flashback: A Spoiler- Free Review of ‘The Fate of the Furious’

Ahead of the highly-anticipated Fast and Furious spinoff, Hobbs and Shaw starring Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham (which is set to come out August 2) here’s a look back at my review of the first Fast and Furious film that I actually legitimately like. Enjoy!

First of all, I am not a Fast and the Furious fan, not in the slightest. The only one I have ever remotely seen to a certain extent was Furious 7 on HBO and I didn’t like it at all. The action was cheesy, the story was awfully cliche, I mean, I could literally figure out what was going to happen before it happened. So, in the middle of the night in 2017, I happened to be bored and hungry for a new movie. So my dad and I decided to watch The Fate of the Furious simply because we had heard a lot of great things about it and I wanted to see if it was as good as people said it was.

So, through the first thirty minutes or so I was watching the movie thinking that Furious 8 was like every other Furious film and would eventually get really stale and cheesy. And then, as the movie kept progressing it started getting better and better and better until I couldn’t tear my eyeballs from the screen, that’s how surprisingly good it was. Continue reading Movie Review Flashback: A Spoiler- Free Review of ‘The Fate of the Furious’

I Can’t Stop Talking About ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’

I’ve seen Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse five times now (I finished it for the fifth time last night) and even though I’ve seen the movie for that many viewings I just can’t get over how good and creatively inventive this movie is. The trick to Into the Spider-Verse isn’t the story, the story is actually rather basic, nor is it the music which, while it is good, I don’t find myself wanting to put the soundtrack on my Spotify. There’s something else to this film that has me going back for more and that is the absolutely stunning animation.

spidermanmiles.jpg

The movie melds at least a half dozen genres in one movie and it is mind-blowing. From being uncannily realistic looking at times to appearing like a strip right out of a comic book and even having the cartoony look of a Looney Tunes cartoon mixed with manga animation plus some truly psychedelic visuals can leave one’s brain scrambled in sheer awe. Continue reading I Can’t Stop Talking About ‘Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse’